1995

1995 June 12 – Trinity Sunday (Bulletin Letters)

1995 June 12 – Trinity Sunday (Bulletin Letters)

Cycle C Trinity Sun

Prv 8, 22-31

Dear Friends;

“When God made firm the skies above, when he fixed fast the foundations of the earth; When he set for the sea its limit… I was beside him as his craftsman… his delight day by day, playing before him all the while, playing on the surface of his earth.” Proverbs 8/ 28 -31

This week the Church celebrates Trinity Sunday, the central mystery of God’s self revelation. However, our first reading from the book of Proverbs and our Gospel from John focus on the third person of the Trinity, the Holy Spirit.

This weeks text from the book of Proverbs high lights the role God’s Wisdom played in the creation and on going maintenance of the universe. God’s Wisdom in the Old Testament is the forerunner of the Holy Spirit in the New Testament. Called Lady Wisdom, she is known as the feminine side of God.

Reading this week’s text from Proverbs reminds me of the Indian Sweats I participated in at Yankton FPC. The Native American spiritual rituals and traditions have a great respect for the divine force found in nature. They are much more intoned than we to that spirit of God who literally delights at each and every new Sun rise. They know well and respect the divine power that resides in all the natural elements. Native Americans devote much of their ritual energies to invoke the divine spirit found in nature to guide, support and lead them on their human journey.

Modern Western societies spend a great deal of time and energy separating our human experiences from the natural order. We have sadly and all to often, looked upon nature as something to be subdued, concurred and exploited. This is not only bad for the environment and will boomerang on us some day. Our over all lack of respect for Mother Earth also cripples and retards our spiritual life’s too.

There is much we can learn from the Native American spiritual traditions that call for a more just relationship between ourselves and nature. And in the process help us reclaim a measure of the divine respect and joy God’s Wisdom displays in this weeks reading from Proverbs.

 

95 06 12

Packing Up Memories and People – “Breaking up Is Hard To Do”

It is with a certain sense of sadness that I write this weeks bulletin reflection. It will be my last bulletin reflection as your associate pastor. My first day on the job at Holy Trinity of S.E. Warren Co. Parish starts June 22.

Between than and now I will be moving my belongings to Lacona IA. I will be doing a lot of dismantling and packing up of my accumulated ‘stuff’.  After ten years in the priesthood, I find I have accumulated a lot of stuff; mostly books, posters and memorability. I probably should get rid of some of these possessions. Of course, some day I will, one way or the other. But for now I’m bringing most of it along with me to my next home.

I know lugging all this stuff is my way of trying to hold on to and remember where I’ve been and all the people who have crossed my path over the years. Most everything I own connects me to a time and place where some body came into my life.

I guess I’m sad because its a whole lot easier for me to lug my stuff to Lacona than it is for me to pack up all the people who have made a difference in my life and bring them to Lacona too. Like the popular title of the song, “Breaking Up Is Hard To do”, I know I’m feeling particularly sad right now about leaving all the good people of St. Patrick’s Parish who have been so kind and generous to me over the last three years. Rest assured, I have accumulated my share of ‘stuff’ over the last three years to remind me often of the good times and the good people St. Patrick’s Parish. With or without my ‘stuff’, I will always hold dear my time at St. Patrick’s and all the people who have been part of my life here.

I want to thank all the folks who have helped me along the way, too many to name and probably more than I will ever know. A special thanks to Msgr. Ed, a better pastor and boss would be hard to fine. I will be eternally indebted to him for his support and believe in me and my Resistance Ways. God bless you all.

 

 

Leave a Reply

