1992

1992 Feb 16 – 6th Sun Ord (Bulletin Letters)

1992 Feb 16 – 6th Sun Ord (Bulletin Letters)

 

Dear friends,

“BLEST SHALL YOU BE WHEN PEOPLE HATE YOU AND PROSCRIBE YOUR NAME AS EVIL BECAUSE OF THE SON OF MAN.  ON THE DAY, THEY DO SO, REJOICE AND EXULT, FOR YOUR REWARD SHALL BE GREAT IN HEAVEN.  THUS, IT WAS THAT THEIR ANCESTORS TREATED THE PROPHETS.” Lk. 6: 22-23:

  1. CARL KABAT TO VISIT HARRISON COUNTY In January, I was in Chicago for a “Prairie & Lakes Life Communities” gathering. I got to visit with Fr. Carl Kabat for the first time since his release from Federal prison last April. It was a small gathering of folks who met that weekend in Chicago – about 30 people in all. But when I looked around the room, most were well known in “Resistance” circles for life long efforts in peace and justice work. I figured that collectively, over 30 years of jail time had been served by this unique gathering of people. Ten of those years were served by Fr. Carl Kabat alone!

I asked Carl to join us next weekend to concelebrate with me at our weekend Mass, and to be our guest homilist. There will be a reception for him after the 5:30 p.m., Saturday night Mass at St. Anne’s.

When future generations of Catholics look back on the second half of the 20th Century in the United States, Fr. Carl Kabat’s name will be well know for his courageous efforts as a Peacemaker.  This will be so long after the names of many present day, nationally known, Catholic personalities are forgotten.

TO BE OR NOT TO BE INDICTED? THAT IS THE QUESTION Many have asked whether the Federal government has forgotten about my line-crossing at SAC on Dec. 28th. It’s too early to tell. In 1990, the Feds indicted me in mid-January.  I plead innocent to buy time, and went to trial at the end of April. But the time before that, in 1988, the Feds indicted me on April 12th. I plead no-contest then, and I was sentenced that very day. In short, there is no way of telling what the Federal government will do with me. We’ll just have to wait. It is my intention, should an indictment come down, to plead innocent again in order to buy us some time to prepare for my absence. I will keep you posted of any developments.

 

 

Leave a Reply

