1987

1987 – A COUNTRY PRIEST ADAPTATION OF JER. 20 7-9

A COUNTRY PRIEST ADAPTATION OF JERM. 20: 7-9

Fr. Frank Cordaro

22nd Sun. Ord. Time 1987

 

God, you fooled me and I let myself be fooled!

Your just too much for me, I fell for all that omnipotent stuff.

Since I’ve sided with you, I’ve been put down, called a fool, naive, a dupe for the communist, an unpatriotic wimp.

When ever I speak your words it’s a scream, SHELTER THE HOMELESS, SAVE THE FAMILY FARM, FEED THE HUNGRY, STARVE THE PENTAGON, DISARM OR DIG GRAVES.

Your Word has done me no good. When I speak it, I get put down. I say to myself that’s it – no more!

I an’t going to open my mouth again. Who need’s it? Let some other sucker take the rap.

I want to be liked. (People really want to like their priest.)

I’ll not speak this foolishness again…

“But then it becomes like fire burning in my heart, imprisoned in my bones; I grow weary holding it in. I cant not endure it…”

I scream,SHELTER THE HOMELESS, SAVE THE FAMILY FARM, FEED THE HUNGRY, STARVE THE PENTAGON, DISARM OR DIG GRAVES.

 

 

Leave a Reply

