1999

June 1999 v.p. – Fr. Frank’s Leave Explained p. 2

June 1999 v.p. – Fr. Frank’s Leave Explained p. 2

  1. FRANK’S LEAVE OF ABSENCE EXPLAINED

By Frank Cordaro

After much prayer, painful discernment and extensive conversations with Bishop Charron, the Priest Personnel Board, other priests of this diocese, friends and family, I have decided to request a leave of absence from active priestly ministry in the Diocese of Des Moines.

 The decision to request a leave of absence comes after Bishop Charron made his final offer to re-assign me to Holy Trinity of Southeast Warren County for completion of my seven year tenure as pastor there.  While I welcome the idea of returning to Lacona, Milo and Rosemount as pastor, I am not prepared to accept the Bishop’s proposed conditions for return to the parish.

Bishop Charron proposed the assignment with the expectation that I not risk jail time and subsequent absence from the parish,.  According to the Bishop’s proposed assignment, if I were to “act up” and return to jail before the end of my remaining four years at the parish, I would lose my priestly faculties.  The Bishop is very clear – he does not want to designate a resistance priest  to serve in the diocese.  Early in our discussion, I let the Bishop and the Priest Personnel Board know that “I cannot in mind, heart, and conscience accept a four year assignment that does not take into account and make allowance for my possible participation in jail-risking witnesses”.  (March 29, 1999)

Throughout this process, two things have become very clear to me:  First, I genuinely have a great deal of support and goodwill among many of the priests in this diocese.  Second, the consensus of these priests is that I should accept the Bishop’s assignment with the conditions.  In their minds, the Bishop is being very generous to me.  In his proposed assignment, the Bishop makes allowances for much of what I do in the area of peace and justice work.  The Bishop is simply asking me not to risk absence from my assigned parish due to imprisonment.

The fact that I am not prepared to accept a four year assignment with a “no jail time” clause is reason enough to seek a leave of absence.  I clearly need time to pray and discern about this matter, my priesthood and my future in the diocese.  While on leave of absence, I will not have priestly faculties, will not be able to celebrate Mass or administer the sacrament.  This does not come easily for me, for I truly love being a priest and celebrating the sacraments.

My plan is to remain in Des Moines, living and working at the Catholic Worker House.  It was at the Catholic Worker that I received my adult Catholic formation.  It was from the Catholic Worker that I returned to seminary and sought ordination.  I believe this is the best place for me at this time.

It is my hope and intention to return to full priestly ministry in the Diocese of Des Moines when I am able to accept an assignment.  Your continued prayers and support are most welcome.

Fr. Frank

Leave a comment