1997

Nov 1997 v.p. Update Fr. Frank’s (threatened) Excommunication plus CTA report p. 6

Nov 1997 v.p. Update Fr. Frank’s (threatened) Excommunication p. 6

Cordaro, VP, Vol. 21, No. 4, Update Fr. Frank’s (threatened) Excommunication, 1997

UPDATE ON FR. FRANK’S (THREATENED) EXCOMMUNICATION

By Frank Cordaro

This summer’s “flap” over my threatened excommunication order from Bishop Bruskewitz of Lincoln has died down.  (See Via Pacis, Volume 21, Number 3, Summer 1997).  I have not returned, nor do I plan to return to the Lincoln Diocese any time soon.  Moreover, if I do go back, it will not be with a desire to function in any official priestly capacity.

I would, however, reconsider a return to the Lincoln Diocese to challenge the Bishop’s threat of excommunication only if the effort would help the reform movement within the Church and only if other priests would join me.  I did not suffer direct negative consequences in my own diocese nor with Bishop Joseph Charron because of my threatened excommunication.  This is not to say that my efforts in Lincoln and on behalf of Church reform are well received by Bishop Charron.  They are not.  Iowa Call To Action still is not allowed to meet or host any events on Catholic property in the Des Moines Diocese.  Dialogue between Iowa Call To Action and Bishop Charron is currently at a standstill.

1997 #4 Nov v.p.

 

Leave a comment